The Leapfrog Group Awards 'A' Grades to 28 Adventist Health System Hospitals in Latest Safety Ratings Release

Choose the health content that's right for you, and get it delivered right in your inbox

The Leapfrog Group, a national nonprofit health care ratings organization, has released its new Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades, and 28 Adventist Health System (AHS) hospitals were awarded 'A' grades for meeting the highest safety standards in the U.S.

'We strive to deliver quality, safe and reliable care with every patient interaction at each point of care, and we are extremely proud of our hospitals that are among the best in the nation at maintaining high standards by earning 'A' grades in this latest ratings release,' said Kathleen Clem, MD, executive vice president and chief clinical officer for Adventist Health System.

The 28 'A' grades awarded to Adventist Health System hospitals in the Leapfrog Group's spring 2018 Hospital Safety Grades release is up from 24 Adventist Health System hospitals that earned 'A' grades in the fall 2017 Hospital Safety Grades release. This follows a more than 40 percent relative increase in 'A' grades for AHS hospitals from the spring 2017 Leapfrog release to its fall 2017 release. The AHS hospitals that received 'A' grades in the spring 2018 Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades are:

  • AMITA Health Adventist Medical Center Bolingbrook
  • AMITA Health Adventist Medical Center Hinsdale
  • AMITA Health Adventist Medical Center La Grange
  • Florida Hospital Altamonte
  • Florida Hospital Apopka
  • Florida Hospital Carrollwood
  • Florida Hospital Celebration Health
  • Florida Hospital DeLand
  • Florida Hospital East Orlando
  • Florida Hospital Fish Memorial
  • Florida Hospital Flagler
  • Florida Hospital Kissimmee
  • Florida Hospital Heartland Medical Center
  • Florida Hospital Heartland Medical Center Lake Placid
  • Florida Hospital Memorial Medical Center
  • Florida Hospital North Pinellas
  • Florida Hospital Orlando
  • Florida Hospital Tampa
  • Florida Hospital Waterman
  • Florida Hospital Wesley Chapel
  • Florida Hospital Zephyrhills
  • Gordon Hospital
  • Metroplex Adventist Hospital
  • Park Ridge Health
  • Porter Adventist Hospital
  • Shawnee Mission Medical Center
  • Texas Health Huguley Hospital Fort Worth South
  • Winter Park Memorial Hospital

'This is the only national rating of how well hospitals protect patients from preventable harm and death, such as medical errors, infections and injuries,' said Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group. 'Receiving an 'A' Safety Grade means a hospital is among the best in the country for preventing these terrible problems and putting their patients first, 24 hours a day.'

The Leapfrog Safety Grade assigns an A, B, C, D or F grade to hospitals across the country based on their performance in preventing medical errors, infections and other harms for the patients they care for. Overall, 750 hospitals were awarded an 'A' in the spring 2018 release. The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade, developed under the guidance of an expert panel, uses 27 measures of hospital safety data that is available to the public to twice-per-year assign grades to approximately 2,500 U.S. hospitals.

Recent News

View More Articles